MILWAUKEE – The annual “Seize the Day” award, which celebrates entrepreneurial leaders who have been crucial to Wisconsin’s economic growth, has been renamed to honor the late Ken Hendricks, a Beloit businessman and past award winner.

Hendricks, who died in an accident in late 2007, was the 2006 winner of the “Seize the Day” award from the Wisconsin Technology Council. His family agreed to rename the award to honor his persistence and vision while building ABC Supply Inc. and other entrepreneurial endeavors that helped to reshape Beloit and beyond.

The 2008 winner will be announced June 10 during the annual Wisconsin Entrepreneurs’ Conference in Milwaukee. To register for the luncheon or the full conference at the Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, visit 

“Our steering committee was thrilled that members of the Ken Hendricks family agreed to extend his legacy to include the Seize the Day award,” said Tom Still, president of the Tech Council. “We believe he epitomized the spirit of the award, which is not given for technical innovation but for innovative leadership – the ability to take hold of business opportunities and transform them into successes.”

In addition to Hendricks, who later won Inc.’s “Entrepreneur of the Year” award, past winners of the Seize the Day award have been Don Weber of Logistics Health Inc., La Crosse (2004); Bob Cervenka of Phillips Plastics, Phillips (2005), and Jan Eddy of Wingra Technologies, Madison (2007). This year’s award winner will be selected by the conference steering committee from a pool of statewide nominees. Candidates for the award will have demonstrated:

-      Vision — Recognizing opportunities where others do not.

-      Courage — Vigorous, dedicated pursuit of opportunities in the face of risk and skepticism.

-      Adaptability — Rapid and repeated reinvention in response to changing markets.

-      Persistence — Maintaining optimism and effort in the wake of setbacks.

-      Resourcefulness — Overcoming obstacles and finding ways to fund growth.

Recognizing the important role the arts play in nurturing a vibrant entrepreneurial culture, each year’s award has been a unique art piece, commissioned and sponsored by United States Patent Services, a Wisconsin firm specializing in the recognition of innovation.

The Wisconsin Technology Council is the independent, non-profit science and technology advisers to the Governor and the Legislature. It serves as a catalyst for the growth of Wisconsin’s tech-based and entrepreneurial economy.

The Wisconsin Entrepreneurs’ Conference is one of the Midwest’s premier networking and hands-on events for entrepreneurs.  Keynote speakers and special guests include David Brophy, director of the Michigan Growth Capital Symposium; G. Steven Burrill, Burrill & Co.; Craig Culver, Culver Franchising System; John May, Angel Capital Association; Sue Strommer, National Association of Seed and Venture Funds; and Anne Zizzo, Zizzo Group Advertising and Public Relations.  Other conference highlights include the Governor’s Business Plan Contest awards, exclusive forums for investors, hands-on panel discussions, dozens of exhibits and a wealth of networking opportunities.

Register or learn more by visiting