Forty Wisconsin winners of
more than $31 million in federal research grants in
the most recent reporting period will be honored during an opening-day luncheon
at the 2015 Wisconsin
Early Stage Symposium

of federal Small Business Innovation Research awards, Small Business Technology
Transfer and related merit-based grants will be highlighted during a luncheon
that will also feature remarks from Mike Splinter, former chairman and CEO of
Applied Materials.

luncheon will take place from 12:15-1:45 p.m. at the Wisconsin
Early Stage Symposium,
which will be held Nov. 4-5 at Madison’s
Monona Terrace Convention Center. The luncheon is sponsored by Marshfield
Clinic Applied Sciences. The awards are provided by the Center for Technology
Commercialization. Research was provided by the Tech Council,
Smith & Gesteland and the Wisconsin Small Business Innovation Consortium.

federal SBIR and STTR programs were established in the early 1980s as a way to
speed commercialization of innovations born in academic settings but poised to
break into the marketplace. About $2.2 billion is spent each year by 11 federal
agencies on SBIR and STTR grants, which are competitively awarded following
peer review processes. About one in eight SBIR or STTR applications are
selected nationally each year.

some other states, Wisconsin has established a grant program to augment federal
efforts. Known as the SBIR Advance program, it is open for pre-submissions
through Jan. 5, 2016, and full proposals through Jan. 14, 2016 at

companies have traditionally done well in winning SBIR and STTR grants, and it
makes sense to build on companies with ideas already vetted and which may be
attractive to investors and customers,” said Tom Still, president of the Wisconsin
Technology Council. “The SBIR Advance program fills a gap for companies that
have received federal help but will still need assistance in areas such as
market research and patent development. Those are areas that cannot be funded
with federal dollars.”

annual symposium, known by different names over 30 years, has been a premier
event where companies gained visibility among investors, other entrepreneurs
and business leaders. Nearly 500 companies have presented during the
conference over time in one format or another.

This year, 45
will have an opportunity to present during the Wisconsin
Angel Network Investors’ track and the 11th annual Elevator Pitch

Previously announced speakers include Zach Halmstad, founder of JAMF Software; Sue Marks, founder and chief executive office of
Cielo; and Mike Splinter, the former chairman of Applied
Materials and Intel executive. The conference will also feature:

dozen panel
and educational
leading entrepreneurs, investors and others tied to the tech sector.

Hours,” offering the opportunity to meet with subject experts.

2nd annual “Excellence
in Entrepreneurial Education”
award presentation.

Nov. 3 “Wisconsin
WOMEN Reception”

(Women, Opportunities, Mentors, Networking, Entrepreneurs). This event is open
to both men and women.

A Nov.
4 reception, two luncheons, two breakfasts and other networking opportunities,
including an
investors-only dinner

Tech Council produces the conference. Sponsors include: Aberdean; Alliant
Energy; American Family Insurance; American Transmission Co.; AT&T;
Ascendancy Advisors; Aurora Research Institute; Baird Capital; Baker Tilly;
BDO; BloodCenter of Wisconsin; BMO Harris; Boardman & Clark; Carroll
University; City of Fitchburg; Concordia University; Cresa Madison; Dane County
Regional Airport; Dedicated Computing; DeWitt Ross & Stevens; Eppstein Uhen
Architects; Findorff; Fine Point Consulting; First Business Bank; Functional
Biosciences; Godfrey & Kahn; HealthX Ventures; HP Enterprise Services;
Keane Consultants; M3 Insurance; Madison Gas & Electric; Makin’ HEY
Communications; Marquette University; Marshfield Clinic Applied Sciences;
Medical College of Wisconsin; Michael Best & Friedrich; Midwest
Prototyping; MIOsoft; Morgridge Institute for Research; Murphy Desmond; Neider
& Boucher; Nelson Schmidt; NEW Capital Management; Pendio Group; Promega
Corp.; Quarles & Brady; RDC National Inc.; Red Arrow Production; Reinhart
Boerner Van Deuren; Setter Roche; Skyward; Smith & Gesteland; State of
Wisconsin Investment Board; Summit Credit Union; University Research Park;
UW-Madison Office of Corporate Relations; UW-Milwaukee Research Foundation;
UW-Oshkosh Business Success Center; Venture Investors; WERCBench Labs; Whitewater
University Technology Park; Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek; Wisconsin Alumni Research
Foundation; Wisconsin Economic Development Corp.; Wisconsin Health and Educational
Facilities Authority; Wisconsin Manufacturing Extension Partnership; and WTN

more and register for the conference at