Foxconn Technology Group announced winners of the second round of the Smart Cities—Smart Futures competition at the SC Johnson iMET Center in Sturtevant Wednesday.

According to a news release, during the ceremony Foxconn recognized 30 “outstanding” ideas submitted by students, faculty and staff representing Carroll University, Concordia University, Gateway Technical College, the Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee School of Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, UW-Green Bay, UW-Madison, UW-Milwaukee, UW-Platteville, and UW-Whitewater, among others.

The University of Wisconsin-Madison led all schools with seven winning entries. The Medical College of Wisconsin was second with six winners, followed by UW-Milwaukee with five and UW-Platteville at four. Other schools represented included Carroll University, Concordia University, UW-Eau Claire, Gateway Technical College, UW-Green Bay, Milwaukee School of Engineering and UW-Whitewater.

Read the story here.

Read the BizTimes Milwaukee story here.