MADISON – A statewide panel of judges have selected 25 entries to advance to Phase 2 of Wisconsin YES!, a youth business plan contest for students in middle school and high school.

Students submitted their science- and tech-based 250-word business summaries through the contest website – – in April to compete in Phase 1. One hundred and thirty entries were received from around the state, a record number of entries since the inception of the contest. Those entries represented more than 170 students.

Professionals committed to the development of young business leaders in Wisconsin served as judges, scoring the entries and providing constructive feedback to the students.

Entries advancing to the next round, including the school and names of team members, are:

  • Clef (Madison Country Day School): Rohan Shah;
  • Crosswalk Wristband (Longfellow Middle School): Azure Getzel;
  • Double D’s Discounts (Crivitz Middle School): Dawson Andrist;
  • EcoSamples (Wauwatosa East High School): Angela Glowacki;
  • E-park (Homestead High School): Julian Camacho;
  • Exercise Entertainment (Whitman Middle School): Grace Dykstra;
  • Fit4Life (Longfellow Middle School): Pablo Dale;
  • Freak Fishing (Longfellow Middle School): George Dizard;
  • Healthy Roots (West Salem High School): Danielle Miller;
  • Humans of Highschool (Craig High School): Madison Abernethy;
  • In our Hands (Oshkosh West High): Abbie Merrill;
  • IOA Ventures (Glacier Creek Middle School): Peter Pao-Huang;
  • Lucky Parker (Longfellow Middle School): Sophia D’Attilio, Meadow Koch and Sylvi Teich;
  • Pass ‘N Play (Crivitz High School): Laken Ducaine and Virginia Popp;
  • Perforkto (Longfellow Middle School): Jack Benzinger and Kyuss Fleury;
  • Remote Onboard Sailing System (Longfellow Middle School): Garret Johnson, Samuel Stolpe and Jackson Terwelp;
  • Remoter Snowblower (Longfellow Middle School): Noah Crawley and Ryan Westphal;
  • SafteyFire (Longfellow Middle School): Pablo Dale and Aidan Tait;
  • Scan-A-Plant (Longfellow Middle School): Addy Korb;
  • Simply From Scratch Mixes (Campbellsport High School): Megan Roehl;
  • Speak-App (Longfellow Middle School): Peter Keepman;
  • The Epi-Bracelet (Longfellow Middle School): Vienne DuChateau;
  • The Floaty Phone (West Salem High School): Aleshia Furlano;
  • The Floreo (Kimberly High School): Daniel Ponto ; and
  • The No-Burn Pan (Whitman Middle School): Rachel Krouse.

Phase 2 will require students to develop their business plan in more detail in a 1,000-word executive summary. Place finishers will be announced in early June and will be eligible for cash and prizes. The grand prize winner will have the opportunity to present their winning idea June 8 at the Wisconsin Entrepreneurs’ Conference in Madison. For more information on the conference, visit

The Wisconsin YES! contest is produced by the Wisconsin Technology Council. Major sponsorship is provided by IBMThe Boldt CompanyIntrepid Charitable Partners Inc. and the Wisconsin Technical College System.

Contest partners include Colony Brands, Fiskars, the Department of Financial Institutions, Department of Public Instruction, the Association of Wisconsin School AdministratorsMake a Difference Wisconsin, Project Lead the Way WisconsinSTEM Forward, Wisconsin Association of School BoardsWisconsin Society of Science Teachers and Wisconsin Association of School Business Officials

The Tech Council is the independent, non-profit and non-partisan science and technology adviser to the Governor and the Legislature. It serves as a catalyst for tech-based economic development in Wisconsin through programs such as the Wisconsin Angel Network, the Governor’s Business Plan Contest and the Wisconsin Innovation Network.

Learn more at or contact the Wisconsin Technology Council at 608-442-7557.