A statewide panel of judges have selected 24 entries to advance to Phase 2 of Wisconsin YES!, a youth business plan contest for students in middle school and high school.

Students submitted their science- and tech-based 250-word business summaries through the contest website – www.WisconsinYES.com – in April to compete in Phase 1. One hundred and forty-eight entries were received from around the state, a record number of entries since the inception of the contest.

Professionals committed to the development of young business leaders in Wisconsin served as judges, scoring the entries and providing constructive feedback to the students.

Entries advancing to the next round, including the school are:

  • BactiTrax (Whitman Middle School) Zoe Del Vecchio
  • CHONPS (Brookfield Academy) Lena Ding;
  • Colored Flame Candles (Brookfield Academy) Liese Wareham
  • Evercase (Longfellow Middle School) Lilian Ladd
  • Fareed’s Falafel Business Plan (Brookfield Academy) Zahra Jazayeri
  • Hydro-Filter (Whitman Middle School) Isabel Jensen
  • IKeyPad (Crivitz High School) Annabelle Kosmecki
  • Improved Pocket Clothing (Wayland Academy) Alex Walker
  • Interpreter (Longfellow Middle School) Micah Korb
  • Le Petit Delhi (Brookfield Academy) Rohan Nangia
  • My Sports Equip (Crivitz High School) Shane Bauer
  • PAC Pen (Whitman Middle School) Anastazja Branski
  • Protein Poppers (Brookfield Academy) Liam Matthews
  • Quick-Wash (Whitman Middle School) Alexander Graham
  • R Xessories (Middleton High School) Rohan Shah
  • Sand Towel (Whitman Middle School) Ethan Espinosa
  • Sightless Pen (Longfellow Middle School) Ella Birschbach
  • Solar Hat (Whitman Middle School) Rachel Krouse
  • Sozoderm (Longfellow Middle School) Greta Krueger
  • Spoky’s Bikes (West Salem High School) Ian Munger
  • Talker (Longfellow Middle School) Micah Korb
  • VeganToYourDoor (West Salem High School) Ewa Wosz
  • biz (Aquinas High School) Elizabeth Hlavacka
  • Wind Clips (Whitman Middle School) Cooper Krause

Phase 2 will require students to develop their business plan in more detail in a 1,000-word executive summary. Place finishers will be announced in early June and will be eligible for cash and prizes. The grand prize winner will have the opportunity to present their winning idea June 7 at the Wisconsin Entrepreneurs’ Conference at Union South in Madison. For more information on the conference, visit www.witrepsconference.com.

The Wisconsin YES! contest is produced by the Wisconsin Technology Council. Major support is provided by IBMThe Boldt CompanyIntrepid Charitable Partners Inc., UW-Madison Office of Corporate Relations, and the Wisconsin Technical College System.

Contest partners include E-seedling, Nasco, Colony Brands, Fiskars, the Department of Financial Institutions, Department of Public Instruction, the Association of Wisconsin School AdministratorsMake a Difference Wisconsin, Project Lead the Way WisconsinSTEM Forward, Wisconsin Association of School BoardsWisconsin Society of Science Teachers and Wisconsin Association of School Business Officials

The Tech Council is the independent, non-profit and non-partisan science and technology adviser to the Governor and the Legislature. It serves as a catalyst for tech-based economic development in Wisconsin through programs such as the Tech Council Investor Networks, the Governor’s Business Plan Contest and the Tech Council Innovation Network.

Learn more at www.WisconsinYES.com or contact the Wisconsin Technology Council at 608-442-7557.