A statewide panel of judges have selected
26 entries to advance to Phase 2 of Wisconsin YES!, a youth business plan
contest for students in middle school and high school.    

submitted their science- and tech-based 250-word business summaries through the
contest website – www.WisconsinYES.com – in April to
compete in Phase 1. Eighty-three entries were received from around the state,
representing more than 130 students. Professionals committed to the development
of young business leaders in Wisconsin served as judges, scoring the
entries and providing constructive feedback to the students.

advancing to the next round, including the school and names of team members,

  • Abstract Energy (Delavan-Darien High School): Haley Gilson,
    Tyler Kasun and Alexis Mancin;
  • Cow Buddies (Longfellow Middle School): Kortney Lorenzen;
  • Crowd-sourced Concept Foods (Wayland Academy): Tianrui Ren;
  • Dance Spectroscopy for Autism (Longfellow Middle

    Angela Glowacki and Kortney Lorenzen;
  • DAP Manufacturing (Longfellow Middle School): Henry W/B;
  • DiabeTECH (Nicolet High School): Rebecca Perl;
  • Eat Out (Brookfield East High School): Colin Gray-Hoehn;
  • Eco-Bandage (James Madison Memorial High School): Renee Kar-Johnson;
  • Equation Solver (Crivitz Middle School): Matt Cherry, Kailee
    Golla and Leandra Klaver;
  • Fashionista Headband Camera (Cambridge): Emma Hanisko;
  • Find My Bus (Forest Park Middle School): Katie Lehman;
  • Free Online Tutoring (University School of Milwaukee): Anshul and Amogh
  • Helping the Blind See (Longfellow Middle School): Jake Gresk;
  • Judges Live (Longfellow Middle School): Jack Stuart;
  • KidZips (Pembine High School): Seth Barribeau;
  • Lego Decal Maker (Longfellow Middle School): Sam Heitz;
  • Ludus Positus (Crivitz Middle School): Nick Lesperance,
    Mackenzie Versland and Tommy Whalen;
  • SafetyKeyBoard (Longfellow Middle School): Pable Dale;
  • SANZM Furniture (Delavan-Darien Middle School): Zachary Gidcumb,
    Shelby Gramly, Adrienna Rodriguez, Nick Ward and Melonie Wright;
  • Shirt with Phone Pocket (Sacred Hearts of Jesus and

    Marianna Crossen;
  • SmartMicrowave (Forest Park Middle School): Jacob Selensky;
  • Stuff’n with Noth’n (Aquinas Middle School): Elizabeth
  • Style (Longfellow Middle School): Sienna Daniels,
    Margaret Kasdorf, Anna Lowe and Sasha Simons;
  • The Beat Pit (Notre Dame of De Pere Middle School): Theodore Van
  • The Everlast (Oregon High School): Hayden Storms;
  • ThunderStorm Speakers (Delavan-Darien High School): John Loomer,
    Chris McKay and Hunter Schwarz.

2 will require students to develop their business plan in more detail in a
1,000-word executive summary. Place finishers will be announced in early June
and will be eligible for cash and prizes. The grand prize winner will have the
opportunity to present their winning idea at the Wisconsin Entrepreneurs’
Conference in Madison on June 3. For more information on the conference, visit www.witrepsconference.com.

The Wisconsin
Technology Council produces the contest, with major support from IBM and WEA Trust. Additional
support is provided by the Wisconsin
Technical College System
. Contest partners include Department
of Financial Institutions
, Department of
Public Instruction
Make a Difference Wisconsin, Project
Lead the Way Wisconsin
STEM Forward, Wisconsin
Association of School Boards
Wisconsin Society of Science Teachers and Wisconsin
Association of School Business Officials

The Tech
Council is the independent, non-profit and non-partisan science and technology
adviser to the Governor and the Legislature. It serves as a catalyst for
tech-based economic development in Wisconsin through programs such as the
Wisconsin Angel Network, the Governor’s Business Plan Contest and the Wisconsin
Innovation Network. 

more at www.WisconsinYES.com or contact the
Wisconsin Technology Council at 608-442-7557.