MADISON, Wis. – Fifty-five entries from 31 communities have advanced to the semi-final round of the 18th annual Wisconsin Governor’s Business Plan Contest, contest producers announced.

The contestants were selected from a field of more than 250 qualified first-round entries by an independent panel of almost 80 judges organized through the Wisconsin Technology Council and its programs, the Tech Council Innovation Network and the Tech Council Investor Networks.

The semi-finalists are spread among four broad categories: advanced manufacturing (13), business services (15), information technology (14) and life sciences (13).

Those 55 plans also represent the geographic diversity of Wisconsin, with 36 coming from outside the state’s two largest cities. Eighteen of 55 entrants are women; 13 represent people from diverse ethnic backgrounds.

“Trends reflected in the top 55 entries match up well with Wisconsin’s traditional and emerging strengths,” said Greg Lynch, chairman of the Tech Council. “Good ideas come from all high-growth sectors of the economy. In many cases, these ideas reflect innovation born during the challenging times of COVID-19”

The 55 entries competing in Phase 2 of the contest will write 1,000-word executive summaries. Each summary describes the core product or service, defines the customer base, estimates the size of the market, identifies competition, lists members of the management team, and provides key financial data.

Once Phase 2 judging is complete in early April, the 55 entries may be made available for inspection by accredited investors through the Tech Council Investor Networks, which has about two-dozen angel networks, early-stage funds, or corporate strategic partners. About two-dozen plans will write a full 15- to 20-page business plan in Phase 3.

The top dozen contestants will give live presentations at the annual Wisconsin Entrepreneurs’ Conference in June. Category winners, as well as the 2021 Grand Prize Winner, will be announced during the June conference.

Sponsors are contributing cash, office space, legal assistance, accounting, marketing, social media management and more. About $2.2 million in cash and in-kind prizes have been awarded over time. The Wisconsin Economic Development Corp. is a major sponsor.

Additional lead sponsors of the 2020 contest thus far include AT&T;  Bizzy Bizzy; EUA; Quarles & Brady; Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren; Relumed; SCORE; Startingblock; University Research Park; Ward4; Associate sponsors include  Aberdean Consulting; Murphy Desmond; and AmpliPhi + Spencer X Smith. Additional sponsors are Hyatt Place Madison/Verona; Irontek; Loughrin Accounting; Madison Gas & Electric; Marshfield Clinic Health System; Novel Coworking; Reverbal Communications; and Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation.  

Here are the 2021 semi-finalists.  Reporters wishing to contact individual contestants may do so through the Wisconsin Technology Council by calling 608-442-7557.


Aimer Guilherme Rosa Middleton
AppEase Nicole Tilot Denmark
Arc Powertrain Mike Hodgkinson Greenfield
Atrility Medical Nicholas Von Bergen Madison
BackBone- Patient Transfer Device Olivia Beaudoin Madison
Baus Technologies Brent Aussprung Whitefish Bay
BookScape Trevor Santarius Milwaukee
Camp Createability Debbie Armstrong Monona
Citrus Innovations Naveen Kankate Milwaukee
Colorful Connections Morgan Phelps Milwaukee
Compost Crusader Melissa Tashjian St. Francis
Cost Crater Nicolas Moore Janesville
Curbside Bicycles Ian Oestreich Madison
denta Maddie Arthur Madison
Dispatch Coach Training Center Michael Garcia West Allis
eCourt Reporters Karen Renee Burlington
Energy Tech Innovations Bryan Johnson Mukwonago
Estrigenix Therapeutics Kylee Marks Cedarburg
Gud Medical Joseph Ulbrich Madison
GLW Technologies Srini Ramachandra Janesville
Intuitive Analytics Matthew Meis Stevens Point
L’Eau Tech John Culp Madison
Little Free Pantry Platform Megan Finkbeiner Madison
Love Lives Here Amanda Jennings Milwaukee
Madison Tiny Houses Production Co. (MTHCo.) Nick Cray Madison
Mathetria Press Laura Gallagher Madison
McCoy Heavy Industries Charlie McCoy Eagle
Midwest Carbon Exchange Max Coller Monona
Natural Synthetics Mandy Wibbing Janesville
Nobbits USA Ronald Brent Fitchburg
Nurse Disrupted Tracy Zvenyach Fitchburg
Pivotal Health Sal Braico Madison
PPE Warrior Delia Lovell Brown Deer
Pursesuitz, Barbara Zabawa McFarland
Rapid Radicals Technology William Schanen Milwaukee
Red Cell Source Gene Wright Pewaukee
ReNeuroGen Stephen Naylor Elm Grove
Replace-A-Lace Nancy Brekke-Jones Rhinelander
RoddyMedical Lindsey Roddy Wauwatosa
Simul8 Erick Przybylski DeForest
Steady Shot Shawn Michels Milwaukee
StoreItWith Matthew Redlinger Muskego
Story Squad Graig Peterson Shorewood
Syncarto Woody Wallace Madison
Text to 9-1-1- App Joshua Brown West Allis
Thermonator Holdings Paul Gromowski Hales Corners
UCHardChip Ulysses Dinkins Marshall
Universal Real Time Power Conversion Debiprasad Panda New Berlin
UP Luis Gonzalez Lake Geneva
Vaia | Collaborative Travel App Joseph Alioto Wauwatosa
Ventris Learning Robert Meyer Sun Prairie
Voltage Volunteering Maria Khokhar Madison
Washbnb Daniel Cruz Milwaukee
Water Table Measurement Christian Timm Fond du Lac
ZitGenius Adam Simcock Middleton