Joseph Boucher, whose career in law, accounting and teaching has spanned decades of support for the startup and investing sectors in Wisconsin, will accept the “Excellence in Entrepreneurial Education” award Nov. 3 at the Wisconsin Early Stage Symposium.

The event will be held in-person at the Monona Terrace Convention Center in Madison. General registration is also now open by clicking here!

Also known as the “Triple E” award, the designation was launched by the Wisconsin Technology Council to highlight the importance of teaching and mentoring entrepreneurs. The selection of Boucher by the 2021 conference steering committee was based on:

  • Delivering outstanding quality in teaching entrepreneurship and/or mentoring entrepreneurs, in or out of the classroom
  • Stimulating innovative methods for teaching or mentoring entrepreneurs
  • Promoting entrepreneurial education and mentorship among scholars, policymakers, practitioners and others
  • Providing a significant contribution to the development of best practices in the field

Previous winners of the “Triple E” award are Tim Keane, an investor and entrepreneur who was one of the first college-level educators in Wisconsin to design courses around entrepreneurial studies; Thomas “Rock” Mackie, a scientist, entrepreneur and educator who has helped build an entrepreneurial culture on the UW-Madison campus; Jan Eddy, tech company founder and a tireless mentor of startups through her work on and off campus; Allen Dines, who has mentored entrepreneurs and helped instill a startup spirit in UW-Madison students and faculty; Terry Sivesind, a co-founder of MERLIN Mentors, a 12-year-old group with about 100 mentors to help young companies; Anne Smith, who launched the UW-Madison Law & Entrepreneurship Clinic and Lorrie Keating Heinemann, whose career has spanned a quarter-century of support for the startup and investing sectors in Wisconsin.

Boucher is a founding shareholder of the Madison law firm of Neider & Boucher, S.C. He literally wrote the book on forming Limited Liability Companies and Limited Liability Partnerships in Wisconsin. Boucher has taught hundreds of university students over time through classes in the UW School of Business, where he has focused on business law, accounting, company formation and professional liability. Boucher has volunteered his time to students of all ages, as well as civic and community causes. He is co-founder of the Wisconsin Innovation Awards.

“Joe Boucher has represented, guided, taught or simply influenced thousands of people in the startup and small business communities over four decades, usually with a quiet style that belies his true passion for entrepreneurship and helping others to succeed,” said Tech Council President Tom Still. “He is a deserving yet humble Triple E recipient.”

Here are the investor groups so far participating in the Early Stage Symposium: 1915 Studios, 4490 Ventures, Baird Capital, Bold Coast Capital, BrightStar Wisconsin, Capital Midwest, Cultivation Capital, Golden Angels Investors, Great North Ventures, HealthX Ventures, Hyde Park Ventures, Inventure Capital, Lancaster Investments, M25 Group, Madison Development Corp., Northwestern Mutual Future Ventures, Rock River Capital, Sandalphon Capital, TASC Ventures, TitletownTech, Tundra Angels, Venture Investors, WARF Ventures, Wisconsin Economic Development Corp., WISC Partners, Wisconsin Investment Partners, Wisconsin River Business Angels and Ziegler Meditech.

The conference will feature many opportunities for young companies to learn:

  • About 40 company presentations in two different segments and the “Investor Intros” speed-dating segment.
  • Panel discussions and educational seminars featuring leading entrepreneurs, investors and others tied to the tech sector.
  • Keynote speakers and targeted panel discussions featuring leading entrepreneurs, investors and others tied to the tech sector making an impact nationwide.
  • Exhibit hall showcasing more than 40 innovative Wisconsin companies.
  • A Nov. 3 conference reception, two luncheons, two breakfasts and other networking opportunities, including an investors-only dinner.

The Tech Council produces the conference. Sponsors so far include: Aberdean Consulting, Advanced Materials Industrial Consortium, Advocate Aurora Health, American Family Insurance, American Transmission Co., AT&T, Baird Capital, Baker Tilly, BDO, City of Fitchburg, CUNA Mutual, Dedicated Computing, DeWitt, Exact Sciences, Findorff, Fine Point Consulting, First Business Bank, Godfrey & Kahn, Google, HealthX Ventures, Husch Blackwell, Idea Fund of La Crosse, KW2, M3 Insurance, Madison Development Corp., Madison Gas & Electric, Makin’ Hey Communications, Marquette University, Marshfield Clinic Health System, Michael Best, Mobile22, Morgridge Institute for Research, N29 Capital Partners, Neider & Boucher, One City Schools, Perkins Coie, Quarles & Brady, Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren, RSM US, Signature Bank, State of Wisconsin Investment Board, SustainableHR PEO, TASC, University Research Park, UWM Research Foundation, UW-Madison Computer Sciences, Venture Investors, Versiti, Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, Wisconsin Economic Development Corp., Wisconsin Center for Manufacturing & Productivity, Wipfli, WEA Trust, Zendesk and Ziegler.

To learn more about sponsorship information, please reach out to Angela Schlobohm at