MADISON – A statewide panel of judges have selected 19 entries to advance to Phase 2 of Wisconsin YES!, a youth business plan contest for students in middle school and high school.

Students from across the state submitted their science- and tech-based 250-word business summaries through the contest website – – in April to compete in Phase 1.

Past winners have hailed from Weston, New Glarus, Brookfield, Oshkosh, Racine and La Crosse.

Professionals committed to the development of young business leaders in Wisconsin served as judges, scoring the entries and providing constructive feedback to the students. Entries advancing to the next round, including the school, are:

Submission Name School Name
Bio-Buddies Longfellow Middle School Maggie Guran, Grace Williams
CoolSticks Middleton High School Oliver Ehrhardt, Wyatt Ehrhardt, Noah Ehrhardt
Eco Earrings Brookfield Academy Molly Seeger, Mary Ratnayake, Morgan Allen, Suzanne Ackley
Envine Brookfield Academy Tennyson Matthews, Serena Suson, Ashley Zhu, Leo Astorga
Flippin Tires Brookfield Academy Peter Mueller
H2-Brew Longfellow Middle School Ellasyn Korb
Hygge Bear Longfellow Middle School Emerson Shane
Infinite Pen Mstem Longfellow Middle School Nathan Gendrich
Photography/Prints Madison West High School Beeki Gurung
Playful Pets Brookfield Academy Allison Courtright
Seninaturals Lakeland Union Highschool Ayla Mollen
Sibling Superhero: The Sibling Starter Pack Longfellow Middle School Maddie Stencel, Isabella Fiorentini, Hannah Jenkins
TeaPop Brookfield Academy Mishaal Omer, Charlotte Aexel,

Joe Zhu, Akshay Saluja

The Benchwarmer Neenah High School Michael Hasler
The Exercise over Distance Game Longfellow Julius Ryan
The Interactive Online School for the Blind (BIOS) Whitman Middle School Emily Scott
Trash Clean-up Rewards App Crivitz High School Eli Gruszynski
Void Lures Neenah High School Talon Eide
Z Hire Middleton High School Noah Ehrhardt, Oliver Ehrhardt, Wyatt Ehrhardt

Phase 2 will require students to develop their business plan in more detail in a 1,000-word executive summary. Place finishers will be announced in early June and will be eligible for prizes. A video presentation by the grand prize winner will be shown during Wisconsin Entrepreneur’s Conference, which will be held virtually June 4. For more information on the conference, visit

The Wisconsin YES! contest is produced by the Wisconsin Technology Council. Major support is provided by WEA Trust, and the UW-Madison Office of Business Engagement.

Contest partners have included the Department of Financial Institutions, Department of Public Instruction, the Association of Wisconsin School AdministratorsMake a Difference Wisconsin, Project Lead the Way WisconsinSTEM Forward, Wisconsin Association of School BoardsWisconsin Society of Science Teachers and Wisconsin Association of School Business Officials

The Tech Council is the independent, non-profit and non-partisan science and technology adviser to the Governor and the Legislature. It serves as a catalyst for tech-based economic development in Wisconsin through programs such as the Tech Council Investor Networks, the Governor’s Business Plan Contest and the Tech Council Innovation Network.

Learn more at or contact the Wisconsin Technology Council at 608-442-7557.