A series of five small-group discussions on Nov. 15 will offer entrepreneurs an opportunity to dive into specific issues with experts and their peers at the 2017 Wisconsin Early Stage Symposium.

The fifth annual “Office Hours” sessions are designed for hands-on mentoring from experts in cybersecurity, recruiting, federal research grants, law and regulations related to young companies. Scheduled during the conference’s opening day at Monona Terrace Convention Center, the 30-minute sessions include:

  • Avoid disruptive business interruptions from cyber-attacks, hosted by Kevin Thompson of FireEye
  • How to apply for a Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) grant, hosted by Idella Yamben and Dave Linz of the Center for Technology Commercialization
  • How to certify your company for state investor tax credits, hosted by Chris Schiffner of the Wisconsin Economic Development Corp.
  • Compensation, classification and covenants: Getting and keeping the right people, hosted by Kate Bechen of Husch Blackwell LLP and Scott LeBlanc of Godfrey & Kahn, S.C.

A special one-hour segment features “Consultative resume and LinkedIn review tips + tricks from an executive recruiter,” hosted by Liz Schrum of Talentfoot Executive Search. Attendees are encouraged to bring their LinkedIn profiles and resumes for a complimentary review.

Produced by the Wisconsin Technology Council and its partners, the annual symposium is the premier event for companies to gain visibility among investors, other entrepreneurs and business leaders. This year, 42 companies will present during the Tech Council Investor Networks’ track and the 13th annual Elevator Pitch Olympics.

Other highlights unveiled so far:

  • Remarks at the Wisconsin W·O·M·E·N reception the evening of Nov. 14 by Toni Sikes, the CEO of CODAworx. The reception will begin at 5:30 p.m. at The Madison Club. Register here for this separate event.
  • An un-keynote presentation on Nov. 15 from Tamara Kleinberg, founder of LaunchStreet, on innovation and getting ahead of the competition.
  • 16 plenary panel discussion entitled “Outside looking in: Thoughts on Wisconsin from investors in other states.”
  • More than 40 investor groups set to meet with emerging firms in “Investor Intros” on Nov. 16.
  • Entrepreneur and mentor Allen Dines to receive ‘Triple E” award Nov. 16.
  • The 2017 Investor Hall of Fame dinner, where BrightStar Wisconsin Foundation founder Tom Shannon will be inducted before invited investor guests.
  • Day Two luncheon speaker Dan Rashke, owner and CEO of TASC.

The Tech Council produces the conference. Sponsors so far include: 100state, Aberdean, Accuray, ACS, Advanced Materials Industrial Consortium, Affiliated Engineers, Alliant Energy, American Family Insurance, American Transmission Co., AT&T, Aurora Health Care, Baird Capital, Baker Tilly, BDO, BloodCenter of Wisconsin, BMO Harris Bank, Boardman & Clark, Bunker Labs Madison, Carroll University, Center for Technology Commercialization, City of Fitchburg, Concordia University, Cresa, CUNA Mutual, Dane County Regional Airport, Dedicated Computing, DXC Technology, Enbridge, Findorff, First Business Bank, Fluno Center, Functional Biosciences, Godfrey & Khan, HealthX Ventures, Holiday Inn Express & Suites – Madison Central, Husch Blackwell, Madison College, Madison Gas & Electric, Makin’ HEY! Communications, Marquette University, Marshfield Clinic Health System, Medical College of Wisconsin, Michael Best, Midwest Prototyping, Technology Innovation Center – Milwaukee, Morgridge Institute, Murphy Desmond, N29 Capital Partners, Neider & Boucher, Northwestern Mutual, Omni Resources, Perkins Coie, Promega, Red Arrow Productions, Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren, River Valley Bank, Skyward, Smith & Gesteland, Square 1 Bank, Susan Healy (Tech Council board member), SWIB, TASC, University Research Park, UW-Green Bay, UWM Research Foundation, UW-Madison Center for Research on the Wisconsin Economy, UW-Madison Office of Corporate Relations, Venture Investors, WCMP, Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, Wisconsin Economic Development Corp., WERCBench Labs, Whitewater University Technology Park, WIPFLi, Wisconsin Health and Educational Facilities Authority, Wisconsin Hospital Association and Ziegler.

Learn more and register for the conference at www.wisearlystage.com.